u00a9 Copyright 2020 ZooTemplate

United States

40 Baria Sreet 133/2

NewYork City, US

United States

14, rue Cholette, Gatineau

Ottawa City, Canada

Our Newsletter



Cart (0) Close

No products in the cart.


Indian Premier League Records

List of Indian Premier League Records and Statistics

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has transformed the cricketing landscape since its inception in 2008. Hosted by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), the IPL is a Twenty20 extravaganza that brings together elite cricketing talent from across the globe. Over the years, this premier tournament has been the stage for some extraordinary records and statistics. In this article, we will delve into the most notable IPL records, covering both team achievements and individual performances.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has also played a significant role in the realm of sports betting in India. With its massive viewership and intense following, the IPL has become a focal point for sports bet India enthusiasts. Betting on IPL matches has grown tremendously over the years, attracting fans who are not only passionate about the game but also intrigued by the opportunities to engage in sports betting. As a result, the IPL has become a cornerstone for sports bet India platforms, allowing fans to enjoy the game on a whole new level. Whether it’s predicting match outcomes, top run-scorers, or the winner of the tournament, sports bet India options during the IPL season are aplenty, adding an extra layer of excitement to this thrilling cricket competition.

Team Records

IPL Titles

Out of the fifteen franchises that have graced the IPL, two have stood out as the most dominant – the Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. Both these teams have clinched the IPL title a staggering five times. The Kolkata Knight Riders follow with two titles to their name. Furthermore, teams like Rajasthan Royals, Deccan Chargers, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and the upstart Gujarat Titans have each secured the title once. The reigning champions are the Chennai Super Kings, who outlasted the Gujarat Titans in the 2023 IPL final to capture their fifth title.

IPL Seasons

The IPL has undergone a dynamic evolution, expanding and contracting its team roster over the years. The league began with eight teams in 2008 and later grew to ten teams in 2011. In 2020, it reverted to eight teams, but in 2022 and 2023, the IPL welcomed ten teams.

Let’s take a closer look at the performance of some of the major IPL teams in various seasons:

  • Chennai Super Kings (CSK): Known for their consistency, CSK has clinched the title five times and ended as runners-up on four occasions.
  • Mumbai Indians (MI): Another powerhouse, MI has triumphed five times and been runners-up twice.
  • Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR): KKR boasts two titles and has maintained a competitive edge throughout IPL history.
  • Delhi Capitals/Delhi Daredevils (DC): DC’s journey has been a rollercoaster, with multiple playoff appearances.
  • Punjab Kings/Kings XI Punjab (PBKS): While an IPL title has eluded PBKS, they have shown promise in several seasons.
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB): Led by Virat Kohli, RCB has consistently featured a formidable batting lineup but is yet to claim an IPL title.
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH): SRH secured their maiden IPL title in 2016 and have been known for their strong bowling department.
  • Gujarat Titans (GT): As the latest addition to the IPL family, they made an impressive impact by reaching the final in 2023.
  • Defunct Teams: Several teams, such as the Deccan Chargers, Pune Warriors, Kochi Tuskers Kerala, Gujarat Lions, and Rising Pune Supergiant, have made fleeting appearances in the league.

Player Records

Batting Records

Most Career Runs

  • Virat Kohli (RCB) holds the coveted record for the most career runs in IPL history, amassing a remarkable 7,263 runs.
  • Shikhar Dhawan (DD/MI/DC/SRH/PBKS) is the second-highest run-scorer in IPL history, with 6,617 runs to his name.
  • David Warner (DD/SRH) has showcased his prowess by accumulating 6,397 runs during his IPL journey.

Highest Individual Score

  • Chris Gayle etched his name in IPL history with a monumental knock of 175 not out for RCB against PWI in 2013, which still stands as the highest individual score in an IPL match.
  • Brendon McCullum’s explosive 158 not out for KKR against RCB in the inaugural IPL match of 2008 remains etched in fans’ memories.


  • Virat Kohli leads the chart for the most centuries in IPL history, boasting seven centuries.
  • Chris Gayle follows closely with six centuries, including the record for the fastest century, achieved in just 30 balls in 2013.

Most Runs in a Season

  • Virat Kohli delivered a staggering performance in the 2016 season, accumulating 973 runs – the highest in a single IPL season.
  • Shubman Gill (GT) impressed with 890 runs in the 2023 season, capturing the attention of fans and pundits.

Most Career Sixes

  • Chris Gayle has been the “Universe Boss” when it comes to sixes, dispatching 357 of them during his illustrious IPL career.
  • Rohit Sharma (DC/MI) and AB de Villiers (DD/RCB) also feature prominently, each clearing the ropes over 200 times.

Most Sixes in an Innings

  • Chris Gayle’s astonishing 17 sixes in an innings for RCB against PWI in 2013 is an IPL record that might stand the test of time.

Bowling Records

Most Career Wickets

  • Yuzvendra Chahal (MI/RCB/RR) holds the prestigious record for the most career wickets in the IPL, amassing 187 scalps.
  • Dwayne Bravo (MI/CSK/GL) is not far behind, boasting 183 wickets to his name.

Best Bowling Figures in an Innings

  • Alzarri Joseph’s incredible figures of 6/12 for MI against SRH in 2019 are etched in IPL history as the best-ever bowling performance in a single innings.
  • Sohail Tanveer produced a memorable performance in the inaugural IPL season by recording figures of 6/14 for RR against CSK.

Most Wickets in a Season

  • Dwayne Bravo set an impressive record by claiming 32 wickets for CSK in the 2013 season, still unbroken as the record for the most wickets in a single IPL season.
  • Amit Mishra (DD/DC) also enjoyed a stellar season in 2013, accumulating 26 wickets.


  • The IPL has witnessed several memorable hat-tricks, with notable names like Amit Mishra, Yuvraj Singh, and Shane Harwood achieving this remarkable feat.

These astounding Indian Premier League records and statistics underscore the rich history of this T20 extravaganza. As the IPL continues to evolve and attract fresh cricketing talents each season, we can anticipate even more extraordinary performances and records etched into the annals of this cricketing phenomenon. With the emergence of new talents year after year, the competition is bound to get even more fierce, making these records ever more challenging to surpass. The IPL remains a cricketing spectacle, eagerly awaited by fans worldwide, who revel in witnessing the magic unfold on the field season after season.

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.